Tag: Incorporation

Incorporation in Alberta

Incorporation in Alberta : federal or provincial?

In Alberta, a business owner who wants to incorporate his or her enterprise may do so using the provincial law or federal law: the former is the Alberta Business Corporations Act (hereinafter “ABCA”), and the latter is the Canada Business Corporations Act (hereinafter “CBCA”). This article will present the different reasons and advantages of incorporating under both laws in Alberta, and look into some of the practical factors to keep in mind when incorporating your business.
Actionnaires

Shareholders’ agreement in Canada : why ?

In our previous article about the most common business structures in Ontario, we briefly discussed two protection tools available to the shareholders of a corporation, that is to say the shareholders, and the unanimous shareholders’ agreements.
Immatriculation

Registration and legal publicity in Quebec

In the province of Quebec and in Canada, certain companies must register with “Canada Corporation” or the “Registraire des entreprises du Québec” (REQ) as soon as they are created. Today, you’ll learn which companies must register. We will see below which companies have to register, and with which authority(ies).
Incorporating

Incorporating without a lawyer : is it that easy ?

Incorporating your business without the help of a professionnel seems easy to do since many websites provide a lot of information about the incorporation process. However, many issues and risks are involved. In this article, we will discuss these issues and risks.
Officer

The officer in a Quebec corporation

Thanks to the article “The three types of actors in a Quebec company“, you now understand the different stakeholders of a corporation. If the role of shareholder seems clear to you, many entrepreneurs still confuse the notions of “directors” and “officers”. Today, we set the record straight and explain what the directors of a Quebec corporation do.
Incorporation fédéral ou provincial au Québec

Federal or provincial incorporation in Quebec ?

Let me take you back to elementary school for a little geography lesson: Canada is composed of ten provinces and three territories. What does this have to do with entrepreneurship? It’s simple, Canada’s structure and Constitution means that entrepreneurs have a choice: to incorporate federally or provincially. So, under which regime should your future corporation be incorporated ?

Étiquette : Incorporation

Actionnaires

Une convention d’actionnaires au Canada : pourquoi ?

Dans notre précédent billet de blogue sur les structures d’entreprise les plus courantes en Ontario, nous avons brièvement évoqué deux outils de protection dont disposent les actionnaires d’une société par actions, c’est-à-dire la convention d’actionnaires et la convention unanime des actionnaires.
Immatriculation

Immatriculation et publicité légale au Québec

Au Canada et au Québec certaines entreprises doivent, après avoir choisis entre l’incorporation fédérale ou provinciale québécoise, s’immatriculer auprès de Corporation Canada ou du Registraire des entreprises du Québec (REQ). Nous verrons ci-dessous quelles sont les entreprises qui doivent s’immatriculer, et auprès de quelle(s) autorité(s).
Incorporating

S’incorporer seul et sans avocat : est-ce si facile ?

S’incorporer seul et sans l’aide d’un professionnel semble facile à réaliser puisque les blogues et les sites web regorgent d’informations à sujet. Cependant, cette démarche comporte un certain nombre d’enjeux et de risques. Dans cet article, nous vous exposerons ces enjeux et risques.
Officer

Le dirigeant dans une société par actions au Québec

Grâce à l’article “Les trois types d’acteurs dans une société québécoise“, vous comprenez désormais les différents personnages d’une société par actions. Si le rôle d’actionnaire vous semble clair, beaucoup d’entrepreneurs confondent toujours les notions de “directeurs” et de “dirigeants”. Aujourd’hui, nous mettons les choses au clair et expliquons ce que font les dirigeants d’une société québécoise.
Incorporation fédéral ou provincial au Québec

Incorporation fédérale ou provinciale au Québec ?

Laissez-moi vous ramener à l’école primaire l’instant d’un petit cours de géographie : le Canada est composé de dix provinces et de trois territoires. Quel est le rapport avec l’entrepreneuriat ? C’est simple, la structure et la Constitution du Canada font qu’un choix s’impose aux entrepreneurs : incorporer leur société par actions sous le régime fédéral ou sous le régime provincial. Alors, sous quel régime votre société en devenir devrait-elle s’incorporer ?